Using PI with Individual Children

How inventive are you with your Phonics International resources - what works for you?
Elizabeth

Using PI with Individual Children

Post by Elizabeth »

As well as training teachers, I work as a private tutor after school, helping children on a one-to-one basis, who can’t read or write well enough. I thought you might be interested in how I have been using Phonics International with different pupils. First W:

W. is 8 years old. When I began working with him in April, he knew the sounds of single alphabet letters and a few digraphs. On the Neale Analysis Accuracy Assessment he came out with a reading age of 5 years 8 months. He has been coming to me for an hour twice a week (which is good, as only a few people manage that much) and has had 19 lessons. I follow almost the same lesson plan for each session:

1. Review homework.

2. Revise for reading:
a. grapheme/phoneme correspondences , using a PI ‘bookmark’. Say all the sounds he can remember for that grapheme. I remind him of any he’s forgotten.
b. words, using PI ‘My Words’ at a level of one or two lessons before the one we’re at.

3. Revise for spelling:
a. phoneme/grapheme correspondences I say one I’ve taught him and he writes all the graphemes he can remember for that sound. I remind him of any he’s forgotten.
b. words This takes more preparation. I plan one or two sentences first (ready for 6.). I aim to include:
i. words with grapheme/phoneme correspondences I have taught before, to help him remember them and to add to the range of words he can spell using them.
ii. two or three high frequency ‘tricky’ words, either that I have taught before and know he is not sure of, or because they help me to compose the sentences, in which case I teach them at this point
iii. content that follows on from the PI sentences we are to read later in the lesson